## State of Delaware EMT Certification Initial Certification and Re Certification Information Sheet

Individuals seeking Certification through State of Delaware must complete the following:

- Complete the Delaware State Fire School Emergency Medical Technician Full Class for (Initial Certification) or Emergency Medical Technician Refresher Class (Recertification).
- Complete and Pass a State of Delaware and Federal Background Check, Conducted by the Delaware State Bureau of Identification. You must tell them it's for <u>"EMT Certification"</u> and they will send directly to the State Fire Commission. You can find a list of locations and contact information on our website: <u>statefirecommission@delaware.gov</u> Background Checks are required for all Initial Certifications
- 3. After the above steps are completed, the individual must turn in the following to the **Fire Commission** to become a Certified EMT:
  - A. Submit Initial Recertification Application
  - B. BLS CPR-AED Card Please visit our website for list of Approved Cards
  - C. National Registry Card Your EMT Certification License will expire the same time your NR Card expires.
  - D. Emergency Medical Technician Certificate from the class you passed-If the class was not done through the Fire School; Certificates must be OEMS Approved Class or approved NCCP Program.
  - E. Processing Fee \$10.00- We accept Visa, Mastercard, Discover, Cash and Checks can be made out to: SFPC or State Fire Commission
  - F. Photo In Color, Face only without hats and sunglasses

Contact the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission at (302) 739-3160 for any questions regarding your EMT Certification.

Contact the Delaware State Fire School at (302) 739-4773 for any questions regarding EMT Classes.



**Application for** 

## **Emergency Medical Technician**

This application is to be used If you are getting your EMT License for the  $1^{st}$  time ever

and/or if you are <u>renewing</u> your EMT license.

#### o Initial Certification O Re-Certification

Name:		DOB:			
Address:	City	:	State:	Zip Code:	
Contact Number(s)	):	Email Address	:		
DE. State EMT # _	E. State EMT # National Registry		Exp. Date:		
-	arged or convicted of a Felony?			າ documents to this	form )
Have you ever been placed on probation in any other state? O No O Yes Has your certification ever been Suspended O Revoked O or Investigated O in any other state? (Mark all that apply or write N/A for not applicable below )					
Explain below in 300 words or less:					
I attest that all information provided and attached to this form is true including that you agree to the Background Check and that you are currently in good standing with Delaware Affiliation(s) which you have					
provided below:	Organization(s):				
Applicant's Signa	ture:				
Incomplete Application will be returned Do you have the following documents? EMT Certificate, National Registry Card, Current BLS Provider CPR-AED Card					
	00 Cash Check #		VISA 🗆	MASTER CARD	DISCOVER
Name on Credit Card	l:	Exp. Dat	e:	_Security Code:	
Office Use Only:	Application Received/Initial			O Approved (	Denied
Office Use Only: Application Received/Initial: O Approved O Denied   Exp. Date on EMT Card: Date Card was emailed & mailed/Initial: O Denied					

Updated: 7/07/2022

# **Delaware State Bureau of Identification**

### **Obtaining a Certified Delaware Criminal History**

## Make sure you let them know it's for EMT Certification

#### NEW CASTLE COUNTY

The office is located at Delaware State Police Troop 2, on Route 40, in Bear, just west of the Fox Run Shopping Center, between routes 72 and 896, across from the Glasgow walking park and next to the YMCA.

#### Hours of operation are:

- Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 3:15 p.m.
- To schedule an appointment call (302) 739-2528

#### KENT COUNTY

The office is located at 600 S. Bay Road Suite 1, Dover, DE 19901.

#### Hours of operation are:

- Monday through Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.
- Closed daily from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
- Call (302) 739-5871 for more information
- Walk In Appointments

#### SUSSEX COUNTY

The office is located inside the Thurman Adams State Service Center located at 546 S. Bedford Street, Room 202, Georgetown, DE.

#### Hours of operation are:

- Monday Thursday, 8:30 a.m. 3:15 p.m.
- To schedule an appointment call (302) 739-2528
- CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED at this location

The results of the completed certified criminal history will not be returned the same day. The results will be forwarded to the recipient as soon as operationally possible.

The fee for a State and Federal Criminal Background Check (must be mandated by law) is \$65.00. Payment options are cash (except Sussex County), credit or debit cards, certified checks, money orders, or company checks made out to Delaware State Police. We do not accept American Express or personal checks.