Line of Duty Death and
Disability Benefits

State of Delaware

State and Federal Death benefits are available for the survivors of emergency
and law enforcement personnel killed in the line of duty. The federal
government also provides certain disability benefits.

Delaware Code, Title 18, Chapter 66, Line- of -Duty Death Benefits

“‘Death in the line of duty” shall mean any death of a covered person under this chapter,
arising out of and in the course of that person’s assigned duty, including all normal and
special assignments as ordered by his or her superiors or assignments undertaken
while acting as a law-enforcement officer under rules, directions or regulations
promulgated by the appropriate employing authority, within or outside of normal duty
hours; provided, however, that death of a covered person occurring while that person is
on active duty shall create a rebuttable presumption that such death was a death in the
line of duty and that the burden of proof shall be on the employer to demonstrate by a
preponderance of the evidence that such death was not a death in the line of duty.

“‘Death in the line of duty” with respect to enrolled firefighters, auxiliary members and
volunteer ambulance and rescue company members as referred to in paragraph (2)a. of
this section shall include in addition to other provisions of this section any death
occurring while performing assigned duties, or while traveling to or returning from a fire
alarm, rescue operation or any other emergency volunteer fire company action;
provided, however, that the phrases “traveling to” and “returning from” shall include the
time encompassed by the firefighters’, auxiliary members’ or volunteer ambulance and
rescue company members’ entrance into their personal vehicle or company emergency
vehicle in response to the alarm or emergency call until their first disembarkation from
their personal vehicle at their home, place of employment or other location.

Death in the line of duty shall not include:

1. Death from natural causes, except that death in the line of duty shall
include death proximately resulting from a heart attack, stroke, or vascular
rupture if the public safety officer, while on duty, engages in a situation
involving nonroutine stressful or strenuous physical activity no more than 24
hours before said heart attack, stroke, or vascular rupture; or

2. Accidental death during travel to and from work, except in emergencies
and in cases where a covered person is called upon to perform a duty in the
course of such travel; or



3. Death as a result of disobedience to or exceeding of orders or instructions
from superiors; or

4. Suicide.

“‘Dependent children” shall include stepchildren, adopted children and children to
whom the deceased stood in loco parentis, if members of the decedent’s
household at the time of death.

Payment for Beneficiaries

Upon certification by the Insurance Commissioner that a claim under this chapter has
been approved, the State Treasurer shall:

For claims submitted prior to July 1, 1997, pay to the beneficiary or beneficiaries
as designated or determined pursuant to § 6603(a) of this title of every covered
person who dies in the line of duty an amount totaling $100,000, payable in annual
installments with the maximum amount payable in any 1 calendar year being
$20,000. For claims submitted on July 1, 1997, through June 30, 2017, pay to the
beneficiary or beneficiaries as designated or determined pursuant to § 6603(a) of
this title of every covered person who dies in the line of duty an amount totaling
$150,000, payable in annual installments with the maximum amount payable in
any 1 calendar year being $30,000. For claims submitted on July 1, 2017, and
thereafter, pay to the beneficiary or beneficiaries as designated or determined
pursuant to § 6603(a) of this title of every covered person who dies in the line of
duty an amount totaling $200,000, payable in annual installments with the
maximum amount payable in any 1 calendar year being $40,000. Installments
shall terminate with the expiration of the beneficiary’s eligibility.

Pay, for no more than 4 years, directly to the institution involved, the amount of
the tuition of each dependent child of such covered person who dies in the line of
duty so long as such child is enrolled in a degree or certificate program at a
college or university. The term “tuition” means any amount required for enrollment
or attendance of a student. Such term does not include any amount paid directly
or indirectly for meals, lodging, transportation, extracurricular activities, supplies,
equipment, clothing or personal or family expenses.

Unless any payment has been made pursuant to paragraph (a)(1) of this section,
pay to the beneficiary or beneficiaries as designated or determined pursuant to §
6603(b) hereof of a covered person as defined in § 6601(2)a., b. or f. of this title
who dies in the line of duty an amount totaling $25,000 payable in annual
installments with the maximum amount payable in any 1 calendar year being



$5,000. Installiments shall terminate with the death of the last surviving beneficiary
as determined pursuant to § 6603(b) of this title.

Pay, if neither paragraph (a)(1) nor (3) of this section apply, to the estate of a
covered person, as defined in § 6601(2) a., b. or f. of this title, who dies in the line
of duty an amount not to exceed $5,000 to be used solely for expenses related to
burial of such covered person.

Pay for health insurance for dependent children for covered persons who died in
the line-of-duty after January 1, 2004, until said dependent children attain the age
of 26 years. Should health insurance be provided by the federal government,
Tricare or similar program, for any of these dependent children, the dependent
children shall only be eligible for state group health coverage in the event of loss
of coverage under the federal health insurance plan.

Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, there shall be no limit on the period of
time during which a person may submit a claim for benefits under this chapter.

For further information - Delaware Code Online

Funeral Expenses

Delaware Code, Title 18, Chapter 67A, Volunteer Firefighters, Funeral Expenses

The reasonable funeral expenses of a deceased member of a volunteer fire
company, volunteer fire company ladies auxiliary or volunteer ambulance and rescue
company shall be paid in amount not to exceed $7,000. If the deceased member of
such company was a state employee entitled to a funeral benefit, this chapter shall
not apply. A member of a volunteer fire company, volunteer fire company ladies
auxiliary or volunteer ambulance and rescue company for the purposes of this
chapter is one who has served as an active member of such organization in
Delaware for at least 10 years.

For further information - Delaware Code Online



https://delcode.delaware.gov/title18/c066/index.html
https://delcode.delaware.gov/title18/c067a/index.html

FEDERAL BENEFITS

Public Safety Officer’s Death and Disability
Benefits

The U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of justice Assistance, administers death and
disability benefits under the Public Safety Officers’ Benefits Act.

The Public Safety Officers’ Act, (PSOB) enacted in 1976, provides line of duty death
benefits for public safety officers (i.e., Law Enforcement, Fire Fighters, Ambulance and
Rescue Squad Members, Federal Emergency Management Agency personnel, state,
local and Tribal Emergency Management and Civil Defense Agency Employees) This
program also provides a benefit to the public safety officers who have been permanently
and totally disabled by a catastrophic personal injury sustained in the line of duty, if that
injury permanently prevents the officer from performing any gainful work.

Educational Assistance

The Public Safety Officer’s Act, under the Public Safety Officers’ Educational Assistance
Act, provides higher educational assistance for spouses and children of federal, state,
and local public safety officers killed or permanently disabled in the line of duty.

For more information on federal benefits, you may contact Bureau of Justice
Assistance, Public Safety Officers’ Benefits Program, 810 Seventh Street N.W.,
Washington D.C., 1-888-744-6513, for further information.
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https://bja.ojp.gov/program/psob/law-and-regulations

